主题:some wonderful experiences

浏览0 回复1 电梯直达
jimozhisheng
结帖率:
100%
关注:0 |粉丝:0
新手级: 新兵
I have some wonderful experiences to share with you.
I like to practice listening by doing dictation.once I practiced voa special english the american story “young man Exobrot”.i did a good job,and wrote out most of the script . but I wasn’t sure of a few sentences.so I went to one of the best english learning web site to get help.

Here is my post:

“Dear teachers
I'm doing dictating practice.I meet some words that I don't know how to spell according their pronunciation. 1."He began to take long walks at night.He learned the secrets of the dark.He saw the broad grass lands under the moon.He heard the voices of grass and cotton wood trees and sleepy birds."
here,is the "cotton" spelled correctly?And what is a cotton wood tree?
2."He got on a train to New Haven,Kaneteikan,to become a student at Yale University." I know "Kaneteikan" is the place where New Haven belongs to,but how to spell it?
3."Haifis is playing in Hardfa tonight."
From the context,I know "Haifis " is a famous violin player and "Hardfa"is a place which is near Yale University,but how to spell them?Would you like to tell me more about them?
4."They walked back under the up douba moon." What is the "up douba" moon?
5."Wait here a minute ,tu vI lI go up to my room and get some money for food."
I know the meaning of this sentence.But I want to know the exact words of "tu vI lI".
Thank you in advance.
J.”

Then I got replies from some native teachers:

“re: Yale University airhead - 76th post - 17 Dec 2004 14:06
J, it seems you've been listening to the New England accent.